Our Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner Image
  • Decrease font size
  • Default font size
  • Increase font size
News - Latest News
21 Oct 2014

SHSC Solo Open...Great Sailing in "Challenging" Conditions!

DSC_0053 - Copy 2 DSC_0146 - Copy 2 DSC_0203 - Copy 2 DSC_0200 - Copy 2 DSC_0162 - Copy 2 DSC_0169 - Copy 2 DSC_0185 - Copy 2 DSC_0193 - Copy 2

Staunton Harold Sailing Club Solo Open 2014
Seven visitors joined seven home boats for a fantastic day’s sailing in some challenging and rewarding conditions for the final round of the 2014 Solo Midlands Travellers Series which was held at Staunton Harold Sailing Club on 18th October.  
In the first race in the morning Jonathan Swain (5559) was the first around the windward mark only to lose a few places with an error of course on the downwind section.  The lead was taken by Andrew Wilde (5492) who went on to win the race despite a bit of a moment on the last downwind leg.  Ian Hopwood (5480) came in second with Nigel Davies (5478) third.
After a hearty lunch the fleet set out for two more races sailed back to back.  Andrew Wilde went off well from the start in the second race, but a capsize on the beat let Jonathan Swain through.  Jonathan went on to win the race, with Nigel Davies coming in second and Andrew Wilde third.
It was all to play for in the third race.  There was a great tussle for the lead between Ian Hopwood and Jonathan Swain.  A win would give either one the overall title.  Ian led for most of the race but was overtaken on the last lap with Jonathan coming through to win with Ian a close second and Andrew Wilde third.
So, with two wins and a great display of sailing skill, Jonathan Swain from Carsington took the title.  Second overall was Andrew Wilde, also from Carsington, with Ian Hopwood from Nantwich & Borders in third.
At the presentation the SHSC Solo Fleet Captain Nick Threadgill thanked the OOD Simon Kelsall and his race team and the Laser fleet who had manned the galley and had provided excellent hot breakfasts and lunches.  Prizes were presented to the top  three competitors with an additional prize to Tim Gray as first Staunton Harold boat.  Stuart Bush completed the presentation with the announcement of the final results of the 2014 Midlands Travellers series.
Overall results were as follows:
                                                                                     R1    R2    R3    Pts
1st    5559    Jonathan Swain    Carsington                  6      1      1      2
2nd    5492    Andrew Wilde    Carsington                    1      3      3      4
3rd    5480    Ian Hopwood    Nantwich                        2      6      2      4
4th    5478    Nigel Davies    Draycote                           3      2      5      5
5th    5176    Jonathon Woodward    South Staffs        5      5      4      9
6th    5443    Tim Gray    Staunton Harold                     7      4      7     11
7th    4727    Javier Porto    Staunton Harold              DNF    8      6     14
8th    4548    Clive Gimson    Notts County                  DNF    7      8     15
9th    5246    Nigel Pepperdine    Staunton Harold        8     10    DNC  18
10th    4325    Phill Honnor    Staunton Harold              9      9     DNC  18
11th    5191    Stuart Bush    Shustoke                         4    DNC   DNC  19
12th    5003    Sam Smith    Staunton Harold              DNF    11     9     20
13th    5298    Sue McCrea    Staunton Harold             10    12     10    20
14th    4567    Nick Threadgill    Staunton Harold        DNF  DNC   DNC  30