Our Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner Image
  • Decrease font size
  • Default font size
  • Increase font size
News - Latest News
21 Oct 2013

Staunton Harold Sailing Club Solo Open 2013

DSC_0047 DSC_0057 DSC_0084 DSC_0145 DSC_0175 DSC_0209 DSC_0213

The final round of the 2013 Solo Midlands Travellers Series took place at Staunton Harold Sailing Club on 19th October.  Twenty six Solos competed in the event, comprising eleven home boats and fifteen visitors.
The forecast was for 8-9 knot S - SW winds with gusts of up to 20 knots.  The gusts didn’t materialise and apart from a couple of lulls, a reasonably steady light wing lasted all day.  The wind direction blowing down the reservoir allowed the OOD to set three different challenging courses through the day.
There was good competition all the way through the fleet.  The first race in the morning was won by Chris Brown (5464) from Draycote, followed by Javier Porto (4727) from the home club and Stuart Bush (5191) from Shustoke.
Following the lunch break two further races were held back to back.  The first was won by Tim Gray (5443) from Staunton Harold with Nigel Davies (5326) - Draycote in second and Jonathon Woodward (5176) - South Staffs third.  With the scores close, all was to play for.  The final race was won by another Staunton sailor Nigel Pepperdine (4862) with Stuart Bush second and Javier Porto third.
The overall result was incredibly tight with the top three boats all scoring 5pts after discard; but with the win in the final race, the overall open meeting winner was Nigel Pepperdine from Staunton Harold.
At the presentation the SHSC Solo Fleet Captain Nick Threadgill thanked all those who had come to the event, the OOD Kris Kenmuir-Hogg and his race team and the galley team who provided excellent hot breakfasts and lunches, and presented prizes to the top  three competitors with additional prizes to Nigel Pepperdine as first Staunton Harold boat and Brian Fisher who was the first with a boat number less than 4000.  Finally, Stuart Bush presented a spot prize on behalf of Jon Clarke of Edge Sails to Richard Pepperdine who finished 11th.
Overall results were as follows:
Position    Sail No    Helm    Club    Pts
1st    4862    Nigel Pepperdine    Staunton Harold     5
2nd    5191    Stuart Bush    Shustoke                       5
3rd    4727    Javier Porto    Staunton Harold             5
4th    5464    Chris Brown    Draycote                        6
5th    5326    Nigel Davies    Draycote                        7
6th    5342    Steve Venables    Sutton                      8
7th    5176    Jonathon Woodward    South Staffs     9
8th    5443    Tim Gray    Staunton Harold                10
9th    5388    John Blundell    Staunton Harold         11
10th    5468    Richard Charles    Shustoke              15
11th    5246    Richard Pepperdine Staunton Harold 16
12th    4768    Jon Cawthorne    Shustoke               22
13th    5037    Alastair Reynard    Carsington           24
14th    5149    Mike Jones    Staunton Harold           24
15th    5367    I Harridge    Nantwich                        25
16th    4920    Kevin Andrews    Notts County          26
17th    4548    Clive Gimson    Notts County             31
18th    5003    Simon Forbes    Staunton Harold       31
19th    5070    Ian Firth    Notts County                    32
20th    4598    Adam Scase    Shustoke                     39
21st    4567    Nick Threadgill    Staunton Harold      39
22nd    4253    Graham Watts    Staunton Harold     45
23rd    3931    Brian Fisher    Notts County               46
24th    4476    Dave Bridge    Staunton Harold         46
25th    5358    Dave Day    Redditch                          47
26th    4433    Chris Brown    Staunton Harold         51