Our Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner ImageOur Banner Image
  • Decrease font size
  • Default font size
  • Increase font size
News - Latest News
4 Jul 2017

Staunton sailors Daren Fasey and Colin Davis win at the 55th Lord Birkett!


Congratulations to all our travelling sailors who took part in the 55th Lord Birkett Ullswater Yacht Club over the weekend. Two hundred and twenty eight boats took part, in this two day marathon event where sailors, race down the lake, a distance of about seven miles, past Kailpot Crag and the plaque to the memory of Lord Birkett, round an island at the southern end, and back. Then they do it all again on Sunday – with both races to count!

Staunton was represented by 10 boats, with our highest placed the Fireball of Daren Fasey and Colin Davis the first Fireball and 16th overall. Check out the fabulous silverware won by Daren Fasey and Colin Davis - what a result!

The Staunton boats in full, with overall results were:-

Fireball - Daren Fasey and Colin Davis - Firt Fireball overall! Finished 16th boat overall with an amazing 6th place finish in the first race. 
Fireball - Philip and Sam Grimshaw - finished 186th overall
2000- Tim Gray and Wendy Gray - finished 50th overall and were the 2nd placed 2000 overall
2000 - Nathan Smith and Richard Barnett - finished 121st overall.
2000 - Mike Jones and Aileen Barnett - finished 171st overall
2000 - Tom and Joy Allen - finished 186th overall
RS 200 - Nigel and Di Pepperdine - finished 62nd and notably 4th RS 200 overall.
RS 200 - Russ Coggrave and Lucy Mallory - finished 142nd.
RS 400 - Nick Kindon and Paul Munro - finished 147th.
RS 400 - Henry Barnes and Grahame Smith - finished 157th.

For a full list of results please go to: http://www.ullswateryachtclub.org/…/Lord%20Birkett%20Memori…

Well done!